Try Again – No One Reads My Other Blog

TPhoto_00021So here I am again on Word Press.  The blog on the page associated with my business, River of Hope Enterprises, doesn’t seem to be developing any readership so I’m trying a different platform.

A while back I committed to blogging every weekday and since the new year I have been successful.  It’s not that I’m such a great blogger or have any wonderful wisdom to share but I do love to write.

The best way to get better at it is to do it.  If you play piano badly it is pretty much guaranteed that after 10,000 hours of practice you will be of concert quality.  I don’t know if it takes 10,000 hours of writing to make a writer but it is my hope that somewhere along the line of practicing a book will begin to formulate in my head or on the screen.  It might slip out through the cracks of practicing on the blog.

While practice helps, sometimes the medium needs some work.  I could learn to play the piano on a little two octave keyboard and get really good at it but I’d be missing about 62 keys and several octaves.  It wouldn’t allow for perfection in playing the whole piano.  So it seems to be with my present blog platform.  It is limited and doesn’t provide the exposure I need to develop a following.

That is why I’m trying this new platform.  A few people I know have had good success with this one.  Also I read an article the other day that it’s not good to confuse your business and your blog pages.  At any rate this is worth a try and while I don’t quite like the format as much as my web site it is worth the try.

Blog ShirtA few weeks ago I issued a challenge concerning this (very offensive to my ego) shirt that I have to wash once in a while.  Since then I have only added two readers to my list of followers.  I have a long way to go.

Now I am renewing the challenge.  If 50 people will read my blog and post a comment I will make a video of me cutting up this shirt.  My partner may not like the challenge, because it’s his shirt, but I’ll get him a different one that is kinder to my ego.

Thanks to those who have been following.  I hope you will continue to do so and feel free to comment on this new format.

If you would like to read my former blogs you can visit my web site..

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Try Again – No One Reads My Other Blog

  1. Michelle says:

    Keep persevering! It also helps to get on twitter and google+ and share your posts there also.

Leave a Reply

