Colouring Books for Adults – Great Gift Idea

Mandala 600It is pretty normal for the adult learners in my classes to be colouring a mandala while they sit in class.  My mother the school teacher, would have a fit.  Every time I pass them out to the class and give them the pencil crayons I can hear her scolding, “Put down those pencils and pay attention.”

In fact picking up the pencils and doodling or colouring may actually cause people to learn better.  There is science to back me up on this but my simple explanation is that when we colour or draw while listening we are forcing the use of both sides of our brain and therefore we are actually able to concentrate more fully.

In classes of adult learners I have had people report they have never been able to stay awake in class so easily.  As much as I would like to attribute that to my clever teaching style I think it is more likely that they are colouring and therefore able to stay awake.

What I hand out to colour are mandalas.  The circular patterns are based on an ancient tradition of sand drawing used by Buddist and Hindu in mediation.  They represent unity and the universe to some but for me they provide wonderful designs which allow people to express their individuality with colour and creativity. Mandalas hold a great deal of meaning and symbolism.  They are commonly used for tatoos and you may find different cultural interpretation including Tibetian, and Celtic on this page.  The free mandala colouring pages are the ones I use in training.

An internet article about the mandala says, “The design of the mandala is supposed to be visually appealing so as to absorb the mind in such a way that irritating thoughts are unable to get through and a spiritual essence surrounds the individual observing the mandala, which in turn allows the individual a higher consciousness or awareness, almost as though being hypnotized.   This allows the busy mind to take a break while the creative mind is allowed to run free.” (More on the site.)

The other day I read an article in the Star about how adult colouring books are becoming top sellers in book stores.  I am not surprised.  As an only child I spent many hours in front of a colouring book.  My own children also sat around the kitchen table for many hours with colouring books.  Entering the newspaper colouring contests for special seasons was great sport.  I notice my grocery store has reintroduced the colouring contest as well and it’s fun to look at the picture lining the walls in front of the check out.

I think colouring books and pencil crayons are going to be on my list of adult gifts this year.  If you find some good resources for them let me know and I’ll post it on my River of Hope Facebook page.

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

