Injecting Fun – Music at the Museum

Music at the Museum - photo by Peggy Guilerit has been my mission of late to find ways to inject fun into life.  It’s been a long winter and there has been a tendancy to stay in and hibernate.  Add to that, for my partner, almost two years of chemo treatment and the accompanying blah and bitterness which accompanies chronic illness.  Safe to say, it has been a pretty dreary time around here of late, but things are looking up and it’s time to change the flavour of our lives to include some much needed joy.

My home town is a wonderful place.  Fishing village turned tourist haven, turned retirement community, it offers a special flavour of fun and entertainment.  Most days just a stroll down the pier will provide some laughter, especially if you run into one of the local characters, which isn’t hard not to do.

Today at 12:30 I ran across a Facebook post that reminded me of a weekly “jam” session that happens at the local museum.  Some local musicians of varying fame, gather each Wednesday for two hours to play some of their home grown music, have some fun and provide a little boost to the museum’s attendance.

Much to the surprise of my partner, who was busy boiling the last bit of maple sap, I announced we were going to town to hear the music.  While I am the sort of person who likes to have detailed plans of all the events of the month ahead firmly in place and colour coded in the calendar Brian is usually someone who resists planning anything more than ten minutes in advance.  He was a bit taken aback by the sudden flurry to get to town but rolled with it nicely and we managed to arrive only about ten minutes late.

Greeted at the door by the curator, Angela Wallace. we quickly found our way to space dedicated to the afternoon music.  A handful of newcomers to town were already in place in their chairs, while we locals began to dribble in, in a slow stream.  All told, there were nine of us.  Even the musicians didn’t all arrive on time but the last to arrive brought their compliment to four.

Three of the four are songwriters and they took their turns sharing not only the music but the stories which provoked the writing of it.  Stories of the lake and commercial fishing were predominant with the occasional cowboy ballad and love song. No lady however won the hearts of the listeners like the the lady Erie, our beloved lake.  They rolled easily from one song to another with quick cues about the key.  There was a variety of string instruments, mostly guitars, with a sweet violin and a mouth organ to give a folksy feel.  Great voices, dramatic delivery and feet keeping time on the wooden floor brought sunshine to an otherwise dreary, April afternoon.

I wonder where my quest for fun will land me next.  Getting bolder.

Thanks for the fun House Milner and company.

.

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

