A Little Dreaming – In the She Shed

she shedOh!  I’m back, but that was a fun place to go for a while.

“What are you talking about Peggy?”, you say.

Well it’s like this.  I was looking at Facebook and my friend Juli posted a link to a wonderful web site with pictures of these fabulous little cabins which are a woman’s answer to the man cave.  When I saw it I started to dream about where I’d put it, what it would look and what I would put in it.

We have man cave’s all over the property here.  There is one that is lovingly referred to as “The Shop” where all things steam reside along with all the tools and stuff it takes to make the steam things run.  There is also the wood shop, where all things wood reside along with all the tools to turn, saw, glue, cut and whittle.    In the top of the building where these two large rooms are is a storage space where all sorts of time worn treasures.  It is a fun place to go when you are looking for a little table or an antique lamp or if you just want to rummage around in another time for a while.  There is also, somewhere on the property, a little barn which was carefully transplanted here and turned into a museum of sorts.  There you will also find a wood working shop but it only houses tools used before electricity.  If you need spokes for your wagon wheel we can help you out back there.

The house itself does hold a combination of our tastes and treasures.  I endure shelves and window ledges filled with little trinkets cleverly disguised as “antiques” and he endures my china cabinets which are filled with family heirlooms (which are practically worthless on the market now but which hold great significance to me.)

Today I have dared to suggest the little chicken coup, no longer resided in by chickens, would make a delightful spot for a She Shed.  He’s not convinced but he’s thinking about it.  It is his chicken coup and I would have to have his help to convert it.  I would so love it though the electrician/carpenter/handyman thinks it might be too small.  He is also considering the economy of chickens which cost us more to keep than the eggs they produce save us at the grocery store.

While he stews about that prospect and wonders why we would not just get more chickens I plan.  I think it might be big enough to house a little pot bellied wood stove where I could make tea or coffee as required.  There could be one wall filled with shelves for books, painting supplies, one set of antique china (Great Grandma’s Tea set) and a few trinkets of my own.  Another wall could hold some beautiful paintings I own and have no place to hang.

There is already some hydro there so that’s not an issue.  There must be a set of French doors in the top of the barn somewhere along with a big window to put in the west side of the building.  A small deck outside the doors could likely be assembled with some of those skids that are a dime a dozen.  There is already the beginning of a flower garden around the building so additions to make it look pretty once the wire from the fences is all removed would be a fairly simple task.  It would be a great spot to put an herb garden and maybe he could rig up some sort of contraption to hang the porch swing that has been collecting dust for three years.

An awning over the porch could be accomplished fairly easily with one of those little garden tents.  That would also be nice to have because I don’t like mosquitos nearly as much as they like me.  Add lots of white paint and flowery curtains and I’ll be set.

All else I could need is on the premises or easy to find.  Somewhere there is an old wooden futon that would serve as a sofa/bed.  I’d just have to find a mattress for it but that would likely be the biggest expense.  We do have a fair supply of tables and chairs on site already and I only need one little table and two chairs which can moved in or out depending upon the weather. In the summer and part of the fall and spring the stove would keep it warm enough that it could even be my office.  I could spend hours there writing and coaching on line or even open it to my coaching clients as an option for meetings.

So I’m all set.  Mine is firmly planted in my imagination.  How are the rest of you doing with yours?  Let us know your plans.  If you want to borrow the handyman you will have to make arrangements after my shed is finished.

I’ll invite your for coffee when he gets it done.  🙂

For more on the she shed visit: http://www.retale.com/blog/man-cave-she-shed/ or check out the video on this link, http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-3047633/Is-ultimate-sanctuary-Rise-shed-women-demand-oasis-calm-bottom-garden-away-chaos-family-life.html#v-3720540120001

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

