Women – Bearers of Pain – Champions of Hope

womenIn my travels today my heart became very heavy for many of the women in my life.  It seemed to be a day filled with challenges and pain for many of them but through it all I see their great courage and penchant for hope.

On this day this is what some women I know are going through.

One lies in a hospital bed being poked and prodded and trying drug after drug to keep her alive while one of her adult children refuses to go and see her because he doesn’t want to endure the pain of seeing her that way.  Boy do I have a tirade for him. I’m sure you have one too and it likely includes things like talk of the pain she went through just to give him life.  Yet she loves him and sees the best in him.

Another who was pregnant lost her unborn child today.  She suffers a loss as deep as any mother who has lost a child but it may not be as appreciated.  Yet her faith is in tact.

Her mother also suffers because she feels deeply the pain of her daughter.  Yet her faith grows.

A brave mother I know with two children who live with Cystic Fibrosis had to watch from the hospital room of one while the other filled in for his sister and threw the first pitch at a Blue Jay’s game.  Every day this mother and two others I know like her, live with the knowledge that their child/children could die at any moment.  Yet she and they smile and push for a cure.

Another looks toward a birthday she will have without her children and no family of her own.  One is dead and two chose to turn away from her.  Yet she believes she still has purpose and pursues it.

There is another friend of mine who has the unenviable task of having to bury a parent this weekend and the day before have a baby shower for her daughter in law.  Circumstances of family coming from long distances make the combination of events necessary but she will be so tired just from all the preparations that she will barely have time to enjoy the company of her children who have come from so far away.  The emotional strain of the funeral is so hard all by itself.  Yet she smiles and moves on with joy in her steps.

I’m sure men have struggles but I think they were given some gracious gift of being able to cope with a measure of emotional detachment.  My Psych 101 professor called it “testosterone poisoning”.  Whatever it is I wonder some days if life might be a little simpler if we women had some of that.

Yet we go on and make the world a better place each day because we know and feel emotional pain.  We support one another, pray for one another, reach out from our own pain and try to help others who are feeling it.

Today I salute the women who go on anyway.  Blessings to my friends.

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

