Chasing Rainbows and Other Fun with the Weather

photogrpah-a-rainbowTonight as the dark clouds rolled in over our heads with streaks of lightning flashing in them and the rain began to beat on the windshield I couldn’t help but think of those wonderful days when my children and I would look forward to summer evenings like this.  We weren’t looking for the rain.  We were looking for what would follow the rain.  It is almost inevitable in our area of Ontario that when the rain ends before sunset you may see a rainbow, or even two,brightening the eastern sky against the backdrop of the black clouds as they trail off into the night.

Usually finding the rainbow meant running into the rain, most likely in bare feet, just as the sky began to lighten. We would stand in the middle of the road scanning the sky to get the first glimpse of that lovely glimmer of promise. Getting wet didn’t matter because the air was warm and the freshness of the drops on our faces made us laugh.

When my oldest left the area in her late teens she came home one spring from Vancouver and was so excited when we had a thunder storm.  She said she had missed them so much.  It made me a little sad to think there were people who never had the understanding of what a thunder storm was.

When she was a tiny thing she was a little afraid of the thunder so to ease her fear we developed a game.  We would stand close to the door (not too close) so she could watch the storm and when the lightening came we would raise our hands with a squeal.  Then when the thunder resounded through the air we would clap our hands together over heads and say “boom.”

Sometimes if the storm was in the night and was keeping little people awake I would bundle the kids into the car the way my Dad had done with me when I was little.  Blankets wrapped around pajamas, off we would head to the pier in Port Dover to watch the lightening show over the water.  It was better than fireworks.  Dad always said the car was the safest place to be.  Something about rubber not allowing the lightning to strike us.  I think his theory has since been disproved but I always felt safe just because he told me that.

I’ve always loved the summer rain.  Running downtown after the rain in bare feet as a girl with my friend was a great adventure.  We would go out of our way to find puddles to jump into along the uneven sidewalk and we knew where the best ones would be.  The fresh tar which was also a part of summer, wouldn’t stick to wet feet after the rain so there was no danger of getting in trouble for playing in the tar.

Summer storms rise quickly on Lake Erie and my Dad, being an Old Salt, knew they were coming before most people did. From our door in the summer we would watch with glee as the tourists playing in the water along the beach hurried toward the beach from the water when it started to rain.   He would always quip. “They must be afraid they are going to get wet.”

As we move into the summer don’t forget to look for rainbows, jump in puddles and watch the Creators light show from a safe place.  Let nature refresh you.  Laugh with a child. Be awed by the splendor of a rainbow and lightning.

Wishing all my faithful readers a wonderful summer.

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

