More Colour in the Sky

2015623-northern-lights-torontoDare I talk about the fabulous things in the sky two days in a row? But if I don’t talk about it you might not see it.

Tonight, the norther sky, near the horizon may be host to the magnificent “northern lights“.  If we are lucky we will see it.

I have only seen this light show a few times.  The  first was in 1971 on the golf course at Fern Resort.  A bunch of the staff had been partying, as we did every night all summer long, and someone spotted the spectacle in the sky.  The party promptly moved to the golf course and we sprawled there on the greens, for what seemed like hours watching the lights dance in the sky.  I was spellbound.

Since that first sighting I have glanced northward often this time of year to try and get a glimpse.  As with looking for rainbows, much of the sky searching was done with my children.  After moving to the country it became easier to look for those sorts of things because the lights of the town didn’t interfere.  We did see the northern lights on a few occasions and it was probably a perfect excuse for staying up later than should be allowed.

Sometimes you can even hear them.  It’s not all about the light but they actually sing as well.  It’s more like a hum but it is a hum which is not of this earth and is likely where the musicians creating music for ET and similar movies got their inspiration.

I cannot think of the northern lights without thinking of the wonderful words of Robert Service’s Cremation of Sam McGee which bring joy to my heart.

There are strange things done in the midnight sun
      By the men who moil for gold;
The Arctic trails have their secret tales
      That would make your blood run cold;
The Northern Lights have seen queer sights,
      But the queerest they ever did see
Was that night on the marge of Lake Lebarge
      I cremated Sam McGee.
Now I’m turning off the lights so I watch from this second floor perch, toward the north.
I need some delight tonight.  Here’s hoping we all find some joy tonight as we look heavenward.
About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

