Faerie Day – You Haven’t Missed It

Fairy 2 There are two faeries in my garden who crouch under great leaves near the pond.  I put them there to encourage the others to visit and this week there is hope I might get a glimpse of the little creatures as they frolic in the summer dew.

Yesterday was apparently the official Faerie Day but other sources (besides Facebook) suggest it is supposed to be on the Summer Solstice or Midsummer’s Eve.  In Sweden though it will be celebrated Friday the 26th and in Finland the 27th so I think it really doesn’t matter because if you believe, you will see the faeries.

I grew up believing in faeries and who wouldn’t when Fairy Tales were part of every bedtime.  There were fairies who helped the shoemaker and his wife by making beautiful shoes and the wonderful Tinkerbell, who accompanied, Peter Pan (Mary Martin) on his journey to Neverland.  We had the tooth fairy who was faithful in delivering a dime for each tooth and the fairies cousins, the elves visited annually as well.

I don’t recall ever seeing fairies as a child in my own yard but there was a magical place called “The Barrett Estate” where my parents would go to lawn bowl on summer evenings.  As I darted in and out of the great trees on the lawn I was sure I saw them there too.  They were also sometimes visible at the home of my Grandfather on the Grand River in Caledonia.  I’m sure he sent out a welcome letter to them each time his grandchildren visited.

It is no accident, I’m sure, that the fireflies and the fairies arrived about the same time at the end of school year.  They must have lit the way for the fairies and just like the fairies it would be impossible to catch them unless you were very quick.

If I had any doubt about the existence of fairies it was vanquished by my Girl Guide leader Maureen Dodd, who told us great tales of faeries and leprechauns which she had personally witnessed in her Irish homeland. My own Gaelic blood will not allow me to believe it is not true.

When my daughter was home from Vancouver one time she was convinced it was the work of some nasty little Fairy 1faerie when her return ticket vanished from the house.  I was not sure if it was the work of fairies or of her little brother who really didn’t want her to go back.  None of us wanted her to go back but he especially.  Maybe he put the fairies up to the task.

At any rate this is this week that the fairies are supposed to be visible so find a magical place to walk in the long light of evening when the dew begins to fall and you will likely see their footprints even if you can’t find them.

For more regular Faery news and lore visit FAE

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

