Rainbows of a Different Colour

Americal FallsWhen I went to write this blog on Friday my computer was experiencing some glitches.  In truth I’m the one with the glitches because I don’t understand all those little pictures on the “F” bar and how to make things work again.  So here we go on Monday with some of the thoughts from Friday.

We Canadians have been looking at rainbows over the American Falls for a long time but the famous site took on a whole new meaning last week when the movement to accept gay marriage took the trip over the Rainbow Bridge and headed into the United States.

I don’t think I have seen such an outpouring of emotion and joy about a freedom since the wall came down in Berlin.

And so it should be celebrated.  They were a little slow on the uptake and they have some battles to fight still but the country which proclaims to be the home of the free and the brave finally lived up to it’s motto (at least on this front).

The change in US law has also met some dissent from many of the “religious” and in this household has caused at least one “unfollowing” of a Facebook friend whose intolerance and misguided religious stand became unbearable to listen to.

I admit I used to be somewhere near the same stance although I never treated gay people any differently than others.  I went to one of those churches that seems to think the so called sin of being gay is more damnable than the very real sin of judgement.  It was this sort of intolerance and judgement I ran from in that church when it became too much to bear.  If I had known the depth of their bigotry and abuse at the time it is possible we could have saved the life of one young man who was rejected as “gay” because he admitted to a pastor he had been sexually abused and was confused about his sexuality.  That young man took his own life because of the torment.  The place he went for help turned their back on him and treated him like a leper.  He was my 16 year old son.

The fundamentalist church needs to give itself a slap on the head.  I note lately that some pillars of that movement have publicly changed their stance on the “gay issue”.  Tony Compolo is one and while some suspect the wrath of God to come upon the United States because of last week’s decision I would suggest that the wrath of God has already come upon them and this might be one way to stop it.

I don’t care what the scripture says about homosexuality in the ancient text.  I am living in the dispensation of GRACE and in the Greek texts (also known as the New Testament) the teachings of Jesus are clear about loving one another, not judging anyone because we will be judged as we judge and about acceptance of all in the kingdom of God.

Over the centuries the scriptures have been used and abused to justify the bad behaviour of men who were greedy for power and money.  I’m no biblical scholar but I am a student of the love of my creator and when I am not living with love in my words and actions I am denying the Jesus I serve.

God bless America and God bless the gay community and all others who are oppressed by ignorance and discrimination.

On this I will prefer to take my chance of burning in hell for accepting people as they are rather than for not accepting them.

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

