Heat Stroke – Not to be Messed With

Heat strokeAs has been my practice for most of my 60 something years, I attended the Canada Day Parade in Port Dover.  Wouldn’t miss it.  This year I did something I have never done before.  I sat down for the parade.  Usually I’m on my feet and moving around taking pictures but I forgot to grab the camera on the way out the door and my friend was sitting so I thought I would join her.

During the two hours of fun I was feeling a little woozy and was very grateful for the occasional cloud but when I went to stand up at the end of the parade my head was spinning, my face felt like it was burning up and I was very confused.

I had a run in with heat stroke about three years ago and recall the information said you could be more susceptible to it after having it once, but it had slipped to the back of my head somewhere so I didn’t realize what was happening until it was too late.

The most alarming part of having heat stroke, for me at least, is that while I was aware I was struggling and probably needed some quick intervention I couldn’t seem to articulate that to anyone around me.  I said a couple of times that I needed to leave before we finally did.  When we got back to “base camp”  I asked for a cold cloth but should  probably have been submerged in a cold tub to get my temperature down.  I was very confused and couldn’t talk much, but no one noticed.

Off we went to the next destination and the burning feeling was subsiding but I still couldn’t think straight or figure out what to do.  I remember a couple of people asking me to sit down but I really couldn’t figure out where to sit.  I was with people I didn’t know well and it was strangely overwhelming.  I usually manage not too badly with strangers but in the state my brain was in I just couldn’t handle and decision making at all.

Finally had the sense to insist that my driver bring me home.  It took him a while to get around to it but I finally landed in the bed.  I don’t believe I slept but rather passed out.  I was exactly where I landed at 7:30 pm when I woke up at 9 am.  I hadn’t even made it under the covers.  Good thing I’m not a big drinker or someone might have thought I was drunk.

Since confusion is one of the symptoms it is easy to miss.  People don’t really pay much attention to what is happening to other people unless there is some dramatic evidence they need help.  If I had fallen someone might have noticed.  The first time I had it I was working in the garden and had the darnedest time figuring out that I should get out of the sun and head for some help and cold water.

It seems those of us who are over 50 and athletes are most prone to heat stroke.  There are some simple steps to take but if it affects others like it affected me it is the people around the person who need to be most aware.  Please be aware of heat stroke/sun stroke symptoms and don’t waste any time taking action.  It can lead to death.

Heat-Stroke-First-Aid

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heat Stroke – Not to be Messed With

  1. Pingback: I Was Careful Not to Complain About the Cold… | Peggy Guiler

Leave a Reply

