Learning to be a Lily

lilies by Peggy GuilerThere is a book I am reading which is influencing my thoughts and attitudes in a dramatic way and one of the thoughts that popped out of it last week is that I am learning to be a lily.  I recommend it highly.  (More about the book when I get it done).

For those of you who do not know the source of the reference I will direct you to Luke 12:27 in the Bible.  It says, “Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; but I tell you, not even Solomon in all his glory clothed himself like one of these.”

Perhaps it is my Presbyterian roots  but it seems to be the time of life I either can’t be bothered getting upset about what is going to be next or I’m finally learning that no matter what I do to make things happen things happen the way are the are supposed to without much manipulation from me.  In short I’m learning to be a lily.

There is a new peace in my life, an assurance of sorts.  It may be maturity.  It may be stupidity.  It may be an explicable connection with the Divine and an inner knowing that things will work out exactly the way they are supposed to no matter what I do. I really can’t explain it.  I just have this confidence that I might as well just do what is put before me to do and trust the end will take care of itself.

This learning to be a lily shows up in many places in my life but most noticeably in my financial affairs.  Having raised three children alone, being poor is quite familiar.  A while back I began to panic a bit because with retirement age on the horizon I knew true retirement could not be an option for me.  With that in mind I began to pursue some career paths which might take me into retirement, allowing me to continue to work at something I enjoyed and still have the advantage of an income.  Part of that was starting my own business as a coach and then moving to expand into Spiritual Direction.

At the same time other work began to dry up and finding a job when you are over 60 is next to impossible so I had to find something that allowed  little freedom but still supplied some steady income.  That is when I decided to learn to drive a school bus and for two years now I have been driving occasionally for sick and holidaying drivers.

Wondering last week how I was going to afford the next step I had hoped to snag a regular bus route but it didn’t seem to be in the cards.  I responded with, “Oh well.  I’m practicing how to be a lily, so there must be some other plan in the works.  Something will happen.”

Today it did.  I got a call from the boss at the bus place asking if I could take a route.  Perfect.  Now the pieces have fallen into place and, for this moment at least, I know where the next meal will come from.  Stop the panic and keep on practicing being a lily.

When you walk with the divine it’s OK to be a lily.

For your reference

Luke: 22 And He said to His disciples, “For this reason I say to you, [j]do not worry about your [k]life, as to what you will eat; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. 23 For life is more than food, and the body more than clothing.24 Consider the ravens, for they neither sow nor reap; they have no storeroom nor barn, and yet God feeds them; how much more valuable you are than the birds! 25 And which of you by worrying can add a single [l]hour to his [m]life’s span? 26 If then you cannot do even a very little thing, why do you worry about other matters? 27 Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; but I tell you, not even Solomon in all his glory clothed himself like one of these. 28 But if God so clothes the grass in the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, how much more will He clothe you? You men of little faith! 29 And do not seek what you will eat and what you will drink, and do not keep worrying. 30 For [n]all these things the nations of the world eagerly seek; but your Father knows that you need these things. 31 But seek His kingdom, and these things will be added to you. 32 Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has chosen gladly to give you the kingdom.

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in blogging 101, lilies of the field. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Learning to be a Lily

  1. Thank you Peggy, I’m not sure what kind of flower I would be, maybe a wallflower! I think you are talking about faith and I do seem to be trusting now that I will be provided for & things will turn out OK. Spring is springing here in Sydney so there are all kinds of flowers appearing – Magnolias are about finished but have been amazing. Beautiful jasmine, azaleas and camellias flowering now so I might see what references I can find!

  2. Beautifully written, Peggy. It can be so easy to determine you will look at life I a calmer fashion, but so hard to put into practice on a daily basis. But, if successful, life can be so much more fun and worry free.

  3. Sammy D. says:

    Faith does give us strength to let things ‘play out’. I think coming into the ‘wisdom of experience’ age is also a factir in being like a liky. We’ve been through some of the worst calamities and come out -if not whole, at least still kicking – so we know we’ll come through whatever lies ahead. There just seems less that will ‘throw us’ at this stage because we are lilies.

    I hope your bus driving gives us some tales. I remember fondly riding my bus, and the personalities of our drivers. Hmmm now I think that memory would make a good post !

Leave a Reply

