Vinget 2

I posted this “Vingnette” a few days ago.  It was meant to entice you, encourage you to watch for more and here we are about to expand on the collection of pictures.  The frame on the left is a grade eight graduation picture of my son Bryan.  the little mother of pear box in front contains a few small items which were precious to him 15 years ago.  The rock to the right has a poem engraved in it which says,

‘If tears could build a stairway, and memories a lane.
I would walk right up to Heaven
and bring you back again.’

On a very special desk I have are a collection of treasures and among those treasures, (pictures of my kids, some ornaments I love) is this small collection of Bryan’s treasures.

15 years ago today, at the age of 16, my sweet boy died suddenly and tragically.

Today for the first time I have been OK all day.  It has been a day of trial and despair for me but something is different this year.

No, I’m not over it.  I’ll never be over it but somehow, at long last, the smiles and joy he brought have overshadowed the horror of that day.  He was a light in my life which can never be replaced and which I will hold dear forever.  He shared is love broadly and I don’t think I ever knew a person with such capacity for love.

Today I was doing what has become a passion for me and I believe it is my tribute to my son to teach people about mental health and about how to support people in crisis.  All day I glanced at messages of love and condolence on my Facebook feed where I had posted his picture.  It warmed my heart to see so many who had such fond memories of him.  One of those is shared at the bottom of this.

Below is the rest of that poem which is etched in the rock on my desk and it speaks volumes to the place my heart is today.  Sandra’s story will tell you a little more about this remarkable young man.

No farewell words were spoken,
No time to say “Goodbye”.
You were gone before I knew it,
and only God knows why.

My heart still aches with sadness,
and secret tears still flow.Bryan Thomas Alexader Delahunt
What it meant to love you –
No one can ever know.

But now I know you want me
to mourn for you no more;
To remember all the happy times
life still has much in store.

Since you’ll never be forgotten,
I pledge to you today~
A hollowed place within my heart
is where you’ll always stay.

Author: Unknown

Sandra’s story

Leave a comment