The Moment Your Table Grows from Eight to Eleven

10388189_10152712168565129_6441390113875955442_nIt has been my practice over the past few years to work at making Thanksgiving a happily memorable family event.  For a few years after my son died on Thanksgiving weekend it was very difficult but with the table set for eight and all ready to get the show on the road there were suddenly 11 at the table and I knew it was all good.  The next three hours were full of good food, good wine, and lots of laughter.

For the benefit of my faithful readers in different places on the planet it was Thanksgiving weekend in Canada.  That means many things to many people but to me it means making good memories.  Where I live in this beautiful country makes that even easier because the fabulous fall colours, the balmy warm days and cool nights make every glance and move just about perfect.  Add to that the wonder of being able to share it all with family and those moments become momentous.

No it was not all I had always wanted it to be but in that moment and today as I cleaned up dishes and clutter the smile on my face could not be erased.  We were able to have some of my partner’s family here including his 86 year old mother.  It saddens us to think this this may be the last Thanksgiving with her but that was certainly not the focus.  She had been concerned about missing the Toronto Blue Jays game so wasn’t sure she would come until modern technology saved the day.  Everyone at the table was warned not to spoil the outcome of the game and Mom and the rest of Bee’s family went off to watch the game after dinner was finished.  Three cheers for the PVR and that Mom could be the 9th at the table.

My daughter and her three children were all here which warmed my heart.  A few minutes before they arrived I got a text saying my granddaughter had decided to come and they hoped it would be OK to bring her friend Jack.  Of course it was OK.  Bring the world and just grab another chair out of the barn on the way past.  “The more the merrier” is the saying and it was so true.

Suddenly my table for eight expanded to 11 but all was good with the world.  God is Good and I am Thankful for all I have.  And yes the Blue Jays won the game.

Note to self for next family dinner:

  • Buy more wine glasses
  • Drink more wine while preparing dinner
  • Don’t worry so much – it all works out
  • Don’t plan a dinner for the same day as a baseball playoff game
  • Make the dinning room bigger 
  • Don’t go the Norfolk County Fair the Day before the dinner cause you will be exhausted. 
About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Moment Your Table Grows from Eight to Eleven

  1. Anand says:

    So the Canadian Thankgiving is earlier than the American Thanksgiving. Could drinking more wine while preparing dinner render the dinner inedible? A teetotaler wonders.

  2. Glad you had a good day and enjoyed the company of good folks making good memories. Nicely written.

Leave a Reply

