Happy to Be Sick

sleep apneaWell not really but at least happy to know, after years of struggle, there may be an answer to my lack of energy, chronic depression, constant pain, extreme fatigue, high blood pressure, weight gain, poor concentration, insomnia and even my inability to dream.  Sleep Apnea is the culprit and today I found the machine I will get to help with breathing at night could be a solution to all these maladies.

When I went to my doctor a few weeks ago I explained that although I’m only supposed to talk to her about one problem per visit that I was tired of all the same problems and no solutions.  I said that for someone who is relativly healthy I thought I was in pretty bad shape and I wanted her to take an aggressive approach to finding a solution.

We have tried so many things over the years.  Treating the depression and high blood pressure have been on the list often and for about 25 years.  Now that I look back I think the BP issue started about the same time my kids started bugging me about snoring.  Treatment of other symptoms like lack of sleep and pain were pushed in with the depression issue.  To me and likely to my doctor it was beginning to all seem like it was in my head which on the surface may seem funny but it is very troubling to believe you might be imagining all this bad stuff happening in your body and that you really have some control over it.

Today when I heard that when I’m sleeping on my back I stop breathing almost every minute I realized it’s not in my head.  It was a little frightening to hear  that because I tend to sleep on my side the overall numbers were lower but in 5 hours of sleep I woke up 4 times and stopped breathing an average of about 20 times an hour.

And I wondered why I was tired all the time.

Now I have to return for another sleep test and then will have to wait about a month to get the machine to support my breathing at night but I heard from the doctor today and from others who have gone through this that my life is about to change.  I’ll give you ahot milkn update on how it goes sometime before Christmas.

I can hardly wait to feel like getting up in the morning.  I’m sure no one else in the house will miss my snoring.  The only thing I might miss is hot milk  at 2:00 a.m. and conversations with other Facebook friends who can’t sleep.
.

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy to Be Sick

  1. I do hope they have found the problem and you will soon have some well deserved rest. Good luck

  2. I’m happy you found a solution. My husband and all his brothers also suffer from sleep apnea. All but my husband use a machine. My husband snores louder than a jumbo jet. Luckily, I’m hard of hearing or we would have divorced decades ago. He’s aware of the dangers but refuses to get a machine. I hope it gives you your health back. My husband doesn’t appear to have any ill affects.

Leave a Reply

