Ungrateful Creature of Habit

ParisI like to think of myself as a fairly progressive person who embraces change and can handle most glitches that are thrown at me but when it comes to not having my own computer and having to use a different one I am a dismal failure and apparently a slave to habit.

The other issue is that sometimes I become very selfish in my little dilemmas of the day and forget the bigger picture.

This blog will no doubt be short because I can’t even stand the feel of these keys on the end of my fingers. They are course and they are tighter on the keyboard than mine so I keep hitting the wrong thing.  Besides that the delete button is in the wrong place and I don’t like mouse.

I can use someone else’s kitchen more easily than I can do this.  It’s crazy.  It seems I am as programmed to my computer as it is programmed to my particular needs.

Reading my email was a challenge.  Reading it on the web mail was very different.  Had to do a lot of scrolling I never do and I couldn’t delete it without marking it, hitting the delete button and then moving on the next one.  Annoying.

My computer knows exactly where to go when I type “w” in the browser but not this one.  Besides having to search for the Word Press sign in page I had the extra issue of trying to remember what my password is.

Such is my trauma when the whole free world shakes with fear of terrorists in Paris, children suffer and die from war and hunger and disease.  Many, even close to home, do not have a bed tonight.

May we all take a minute tonight from our everyday struggle to remember the real trouble in the world and whisper a prayer to the Divine and  put it all in perspective.

ber the real trouble of th

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

