Revisiting Christmas Cards

Christmas CardChristmas Cards are a wonderful tradition which, for my generation and the ones after me, is almost a lost art.  With Social Media and easy phone and internet connections there is not the same need to make connections and let people know what is going on in our lives.  It is though, a great way to let people you don’t see often, know they are in your thoughts.

I started the tradition again last year and need to get at them done in the next couple of days.  I did one this afternoon that needed a letter in it.  A distant relative lives a very simple life with no phone or internet and depends on family correspondence to keep up with what is going on.  It was sad I had to let him know about his first cousin Earl, who has disappeared into a world of dementia.  I know it will bring him sadness.  They were quite close.

The others will not likely have long letters but just short greetings.  A couple will head to Florida to some folks I miss dearly in the winter when they are away.  As silly as it may seem I always send cards to our neighbours who are close because though we wave we don’t often get a chance to visit.  It is good to know someone is watching out for us even if we don’t talk much.  We have some neighbours who are second to none.

There are only nine students on my bus so they will likely all get a card.  We do have fun every day and I worry about them like they were my own.  They are also receiving a mascot from me.  Rather than spend money on them I’m adopting a Canadian Wildlife Federation animal for them.  It will be our mascot in the bus.

Of course my aunts and uncles will get cards.  That is a must do on the list. My cousins may also get cards this year.  I miss them and the family gatherings we used to have.  Our family list grows smaller each year.  I think it is important to keep in touch with those with whom we have shared history.  It keeps us grounded.

Those dear friends I have on Facebook will likely get a group greeting on my time line.  We talk fairly often in a new sort of way but it keeps us up with the others are doing and it’s fun.

There will be some cards going out of our home to business associates and customers.  We both have businesses and it is just good sense to send something to them that isn’t a bill and shows how much we appreciate their business and patronage.

As the years go by it becomes more and more important to stay in touch with those who remain.  So often I wish I had reached more to some who have slipped away without much notice.  It is the little things that make big memories.

 

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

