Exploding Brain

Chart.jpgToday my blog is short.  I’m feeling like there is just too much to take in right now.  I have learned so many new things and begun to travel in so many new directions that I may explode.  As I sort through some of it I may find ways to write about it.

I love learning and as part of my journey in spiritual direction I believe it is important to understand many of the spiritual approaches people take in life.  This week I’ve been exposed to natal charts and sun signs along with Universal Laws, Shamanic Principles and the delightful concept of body language being used to increase our ability to tackle some of the hard stuff in life.

In the past I have avoided this particular path of learning because “readings” and “horoscopes” frightened me.  I didn’t want to live under a curse that someone put on me so I wouldn’t even entertain reading my horoscope.  This week I have learned that the ancient art very different from the modern, materialistic approach to the subject and while I’m sure I will never explore the subject in depth I have had my eyes opened.

That is a regular occurrence for me.  My foray into the world of charismatic Christianity left me with many biases which were based in fear and ignorance.  Now those are being stripped away and it makes me squirm a bit.  I have a been less open minded than I thought myself to be.  I hope anyone I may have offended with my closed way of thinking will forgive me.

The easiest of the principles I learned this week is from Amy Curry about body Language.   Her TED Talk is worth the listen so take a few minutes.  It might change your stance.

 

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exploding Brain

  1. I’ve been reading my horoscope since I was a teenager. I find it fascinating! Nothing to fear.

Leave a Reply

