Detours

 

The picture I’veDetour included with this of the Detour sign was taken on a walk through the woods at Five Oaks Retreat Centre on the Grand River near Paris.

As I looked at the picture today I remembered the path which it was on.  There was a steep path to the little stream below but it had become treacherously close to the edge of the hill and in danger of falling in.  It had also been covered with a large fallen tree which made parts of it impassible.  That meant someone had to blaze a new path on higher ground around the spot.  It was tempting to travel down the old path because I knew it must take feet past lovely places but someone had seen the danger and gone to the trouble of erecting a sign, putting some rope across the most treacherous spots and then making the new path. It was designed to keep travelers from trouble where they might not be able to get help.  And so I took the new path and paid attention to the detour sign.  Soon I came back to the original trail and found myself walking the places I knew.

My life seems to be on a bit of a detour.  I was at a place in the path where I might fall off the path and it seemed there was no one who would notice in time to be able to rescue me.  As good fortune would have it I was able to retreat to a quiet place with few responsibilities besides the four hours of bus driving every day and walking this lovely old dog.

Things are different and it’s not easy adjusting to new routines of finding things in someone else’s home but I’m beginning to settle in a bit.  The change of routine has had a few casualties.  There is no place to park the car and the bus so I have to decide not to go places on occasion because I don’t want to do the vehicle shuffle.  That is likely a good thing in some ways.  It forces me to slow down and just look after me.  Even my blogging has suffered a bit and I missed a few of my self imposed deadlines because long walks on the beach with the dog and reading a book were far more important.

Some other things have gained from this detour.  I’ve been able to spend some precious moments of reflection and I’ve started journaling again.  That is something I’ve done most of my adult life but recently it has gotten lost in the chaos of life and the silence of depression.  I’m walking almost every day (except -25C Sunday).  It still hurts but it’s getting a little easier and I’m not taking so many pain pills for the back.  I’m eating better because there is no exposure to junk food unless I buy it and I’m not.  I’ve managed to get through a whole day without sugar today.

I have some projects on the go.  I have done some work to fix up the Ontario Jubilee web page.  I’m their communications coordinator now and have some duties that go with that job.

My own web site also needs some revamping and I have another 5 weeks to get it up to speed before it goes on line.

Before that though there is a short reflection paper I have to write about Spiritual Direction.  That may be my next blog and my readers will finally be able to see what I’m talking about.

Developing some good daily routine is a big part of this detour.  Reading and studying instead of watching TV all the time is easier when I’m alone and hopefully will become habit before I return home.

Making a new path and then walking into the familiar one from it with no scrapes and bruises from having fallen into dangerous places.

Thanks for listening.

About Peggy Guiler

You just never know what show up on my blog. As the name implies it is about the stuff of life just like Spilt Milk. Everyday events spark thought and contemplation. Special events in the community, the country or the world may strike a cord and get me talking. Sometimes it's about people in my life or circumstances, sometimes about my garden, sometimes about a book or a political issue. Always it's about something I am passionate about. In my business, River of Hope Enterprises, I work as an "Associate Certified Coach" (International Coach Federation), a trainer, consultant and speaker. and soon to be, spiritual director. I also drive a school bus to keep the wolf from the door while I build my business. I love the kids on the bus (most of the time). My family is grown and I have three grandkids who thrill my heart but I don't get to see any of them very often. Circumstances of life have made "family" difficult. My son died by suicide at age 16 in 2000 and the strain on our family relationships since has been huge. Mental health is a field where I worked for almost 20 years and where I still do some consulting and training. That combined with my own battle with depression and my son's death weave together to form some of my greatest soap box items: suicide intervention, suicide bereavement and peer support in mental health are right on the top of my list. Social justice is an underlying passion. Keeping the wolf from the door as a single parent was full-time work and my career path as a journalists was augmented with cleaning contracts, cooking, retail clerk, and bartending. I have known hard work and am grateful for the experience and perspective it has given me. My own passion for learning has now taken me toward a new field as a Spiritual Director. I am studying with the Ontario Jubilee Program. This new field I believe puts all my talents with people into one place which and may​ become something I can continue into retirement. Supporting people is what I do best. Woven into all of this is my love of writing. Trained as a Journalist, and having worked in the field as a freelance news writer for many years, I have a great love for writing. This blog is a new beginning for me. As I hone my skills and begin to form a daily discipline of writing I hope it will lead to more writing in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

